Villa del Conte: “VILLA COMITIS” is the toponym cited in the 1085 document dealing with a donation of rural lands to the Abbazia (abbey) Benedettina dei Santi Eufemia e Pietro.
Strategically placed along the Tergola river, Villa del Conte was part of the Roman centuriatio. Numerous archaeological finds are witness of Bronze age settlements and of the subsequent Roman Empire. Evidence of the Lombards is noticeable in the architecture of the splendid church of San Massimo (in the hamlet Borghetto) whose building dates back to the 7th- 8th century. In the area two small slabs were found, the first representing a praying Lamb and the second the Lamb carrying the Cross.
The church of Villa del Conte, dedicated to Saint Juliana of Nicomedia, was rebuilt in 1740 in the place where the previous one used to stand. It has a Latin cross plan and an elegant façade decorated with marble statues by Antonio Bonazza, a famous sculptor from Padova. There are five altars in polychrome marble along the nave. The presbytery is decorated with 4 charming paintings. Three important paintings of the painter Nicola Grassi are hung on the ceiling. Among the most charming works, the painting representing Saint Scholastica attributed to Ascanio Spineda (1588-1648), the one representing patron saints Joseph and Juliana amongst angels by Luigi Borromeo (1923) and the one representing Virgin Mary with Saint Francis holding baby Jesus in his arms, attributed to Jacopo di Antonio de Negreto called Palma il Vecchio.
When Padova became part of the Venetian Republic, the area of Villa del Conte, together with Badia di S. Eufemia (now Abbazia Pisani, hamlet of Villa del Conte), became jurisdiction of the podestà of Camposampiero. Many aristocrats of the area were nominated podestà by the Republic of Venice from the 15th century on: Dolfin, Morosini, Camposampiero and others. It favoured the arrival of families in the area, where they built their summer estates.
Villa Dolfin – Zara – Zantomio – Frasson, one of the most ancient in the area, presenting remarkable exterior frescoes of the 16th century.
Villa Morosini – Venier – Serego Alighieri - Carlon, registered in 1509. The Morosini family bought vast lands in Villa del Conte since the 15th century.
Villa Tomasini –Zara – Todesco. The villa is likely to date back to the 17th century, with precious terrazzo paving and a fresco in the main salon, attributed to the sculptor Vincenzo Vela (1865) native of Ticino.
BORGORICCO: G. B. CANAL CALLED CANALETTO, VILLA BRESSANIN, STRAELLE ORATORY, S. NICOLÒ CHURCH.
CAMPODARSEGO: VILLA MATTIAZZO – GELMI, VILLA MARCELLO, S. GREGORIO BARBARIGO.
CAMPOSAMPIERO: WALNUT TREE SANCTUARY, CLOCK TOWER, BONIFACIO PITALI, VILLA QUERINI.
CITTADELLA: CATHEDRAL, TORRESINO CHURCH, S. FRANCESCO MONASTERY, PIEVE DI S. DONATO, CIVIC MUSEUM TORRE DI MALTA, MEDIEVAL WALLS, THEATER AND MORE.
LOREGGIA: VILLA POLCASTRO – WOLLEMBORG, VILLA RANA.
MASSANZAGO: GIAMBATTISTA TIEPOLO, LUCA CARLEVARIJS, VILLA BAGLIONI.
PIAZZOLA SUL BRENTA: VILLA CONTARINI.
PIOMBINO DESE: G.B. CROSATO, VILLA MARCELLO,VILLA CORNARO, ANDREA PALLADIO.
S. GIORGIO DELLE PERTICHE: JACOPO NEGRETTI CALLED PALMA IL GIOVANE, VILLA PUGNALIN.
S. GIUSTINA IN COLLE: VILLA MOROSINI, ANDREA DA CONEGLIANO, S. GIUSTINA , 8TH STATION OF THE VIA CRUCIS.
TREBASELEGHE: ANDREA DA MURANO, PALMA IL GIOVANE, PIETRO DAMINI, VILLA BASADONNA – TOME’ – GAL.
VILLANOVA DI CAMPOSAMPIERO.: VILLA RUZZINI, ANTONIO VASSILACCHI.